Wrestling with a full Nelson

Day six, really, of my new life - learning to code.

Today sees me with 24 total page views on hashnode, finishing work on amigoscode.com's useful Terminal, Bash & VIM Essentials lecture series. Basically I am here to familiarise myself with Git bash, and as a sideline am getting to know SublimeText 4 and PowerShell. Nelson would have me install Ubuntu, which I singled out years ago as a way for me to get away from MS products, but my attitude towards MS has mellowed because I know they provide free stuff for coders. It only becomes an issue, my loathing for proprietory pre-installed software, when I need to buy hardware, which isn't very often.

So here I am running Windows 8.0 on a Toshiba laptop, with no intention of putting Ubuntu on just yet. I tried to do it before but the hard drive stopped me from booting from a USB, even though in 'DOS' or whatever I have, I had set permissions to do so. My techy guy says there'e a code on my hard disk which overrides everything at boot. If I changed the hard drive MAYBE we could get round it, he says.

So I follow this course on Windows, and I can do most stuff in Git bash except I can't install OhMyZsh and use several commands he uses on his non-Windows machine.

By the way, after this I will be looking at Quincy Larson's Vim Windows Install Guide – How to Run the Vim Text Editor in PowerShell on your PC. I have installed it and I want to play with it. Nelson will have me using it in a few minutes, as I am half way through his lectures. freecodecamp.org/news/vim-windows-install-p..

I will also be examining this: howtoforge.com/tutorial/linux-grep-command

The commands in Git bash that DO NOT appear to work on my PC are: pwd, cal, man, f and touch. I can't call up the manual, but I can go online for information to find alternatives or workarounds, which is what I have been doing all week. This means Nelson's short and sweet lectures take longer to complete. Oh, and Windows is case insensitive, so I can't rename query.sql to QUERY.sql in Git bash.

I tried some of these commands in PowerShell, and they work, which means I need to learn why that is so. Also, I am not put off by any of this. It's a challenge and the internet is there for me. I also suppose that ANY course I follow will have sections that I must skip for technical reasons/my PC limitations. I imagine that there are workarounds for some of these problems I am experiencing, but I must forge ahead. More later, thanks for reading. Don't forget to get yourself a hashnode blog!