What a Git! Still using EditPad Lite!

I keep notebooks of my computer activity, and I suggest you do the same.

The entry for 30/09/2020 says I installed GitHub Desktop. The info is there, including my password and username. It goes on to say I followed that up by installing Git on my Toshiba Windows 8.0 PC (that's what I am using throughout this fiasco). It was version 2.28.0 (64-bit) 49MB. I must point out that I can't remember why I wanted it back then, probably just because I was curious to see whether I could install it or not! I have no fear of breaking my PC.

The day after, while installing Git 2.28.0, I stopped to install Sublime Text 3 (10.4 MB). So it's here on my PC in Program Files\ Sublime Text 3 and I have never opened it. I will leave it there for now. My notes say I was trying to "configure default editor in GitHub Desktop", so that explains it. I have been using EditPad Lite for the last twenty years. Thanks Jan Goyvaerts. I swear it was only for personal use. I had heard of newer text editors with different colours for HTML, CSS and so on, so I was interested in moving with the times. However, all through 2020, I updated my website a few times, always using EditPad Lite, black on white with Courier New font set at 14 points. So Old School.

I am "not using a credential helper", my notes say. A "nice Git bash launched" I jotted down, along with something about reading the ReleaseNotes.html. I might investigate these things one day.

To keep that Git Bash, I pinned it to the taskbar (right click on illuminated icon in task bar along bottom of screen when Git Bash is open on the desktop, and pin it), and it's still there to this day, and I have used it more since 26/07/2021, when I started all over again with a big leap into the unknown, starting with setting up ReactJS on my PC. More on this in my next post. Please comment, but I believe you must be logged in to hashcode to do so, so I suggest you grab yourself a blog like mine! Do it now!