Hiccups, false-starts, and getting off the blocks...

... as a web application developer, what else? Graduated in 2002 in Interactive Multimedia Design in the UK, followed by a move to Italy to teach English. Never leaving off the idea that I could become a developer, first with my own language learning website, then dreaming of creating Mobile web applications and/or xAPI powered learning ecosystems, hopefully in ReactJS. Absolute beginner almost, as I only ever learned bits of PHP, jQueryMobile, MySQL and the usual HTML, CSS and JavaScript. I had learned how to display RSS feeds on my website. In 2020, I started again in earnest and decided it was time to learn how to use the tools I would use in industry. A few DuckDuckGo searches later I had a short list (in no particular order):

  • Git and GitHub
  • Windows command prompt
  • FTP or whatever people use in 2021
  • ReactJS
  • Redux
  • Bootstrap & SCSS
  • Visual Studio Code
  • xAPI and LMS (learning management system)
  • UI design fundamentals

Quite a list. And I don't even know if it's what I need to get to where I'm going, but I will soon find out. Join me, then, as a mature student, already in work, dedicates evenings and spare moments to further his career as "some sort of Mobile web developer". Let the linkfest begin!